tessie lagman: an icon in the field of radio broadcasting now joins the acting scene


tessie lagman: never too late on movie and tv acting than never
tessie lagman: never too late on movie and tv acting than never

Tessie Lagman’s journey into the world of her broadcasting career, we could say, is “one for the books”. It’s a journey of great calm and strong will, added with colors of laughter, accomplishments and dedication. One could consider her as a real ICON in the field of radio broadcasting. Because she has managed to stay there for more than two decades now.

She started as an ordinary provinciana lass, fresh from her graduation in high school education.

“I at once was offered to become a radio broadcaster for DZXT”, Tessie started saying to a blogger. “The year was 1964. I was very young. And that started it all.

“After that, when I was already in College, I joined the DZTC radio broadcasting network. And the rest was history.”

But a few years after, Tessie discovered another hidden talent- and that was singing. She joined a popular singing contest on TV during the early ’70’s- Tawag Ng Tanghalan. And she became a Champion in that T.V. singing contest for five long weeks.

“ABS-CBN saw me after”, Tessie continued saying. “And they invited me to join them in their radio network. It was D’WOW radio. I joined them also in the radio program Operetang Putol-Putol wherein I sang and act on that radio program which was a musical-variety. I was made then to choose between my broadcasting career and my singing career. I chose my broadcasting career, of course. My singing career just became my second priority.”

Tessie’s broadcasting career over ABS-CBN  lasted then until the Martial Law during the late ’70’s. Then she transfered to RBS radio broadcasting network of the late Bob Stewart. She had a radio program there over DZBB, together with German Moreno.

Her program over DZBB was an advice radio program, dealing with matters of the heart and problems on life- wherein she had to give heartfelt advice and console letter-senders. Almost like the late Helen Vela who’s known for her Lovingly Yours, Helen.

(ms. tessie lagman’s golden voice during her youth, thanks to: limva123 for uploading it on youtube.com)

ONCE THERE WAS A LOVE – Tessie Lagman

But in-between her broadcasting career, Tessie recorded songs. Her most popular was “Once There Was A Love”, her own cover of the popular Jose Feliciano song during those years. This song-cover of hers is still so popular up to now. 

“Charlie Lozo of Bangis online radio once played that song on his radio program”, Tessie happily said. “And to his amazement, he got so many unlimited requests to play the song over and over again on his radio program. He contacted me afterwards and told me that I still have so many fans. And that jumpstarted it all back again for people to remember me once more.”

Soon after, Mr. Charlie Lozo, the publicist of the movie Butanding (which just had its last shooting day a few days back), asked Tessie for a meeting with director Ed Palmos (also the director of Butanding) at Mcdonald’s restaurant. Tessie got the biggest amazement of her life when direk Ed offered her a good role in the film.

“I asked direk Ed at that time- Direk, totoo ba talaga ang sinasabi mo? I couldn’t believe it!”, Tessie revealed to a blogger. “He’s willing to transform me into a character actress. And he told me- Kaya mo ‘yan, Tessie. With direk Ed’s good convincing power and charm, I answered yes finally. And true to his word, he abled to transform me- I mean, napaarte niya ako. He motivated me so well during our shooting days that I was able to portray the role of an offbeat character fully well.”

A blogger watched Tessie Lagman during the last day of shoot of the film Butanding. And indeed, the radio icon could act ACT. She was so good in every scene. Most of all in heavy dramatic higlights which were so physically and emotionally-draining, Ms. Tessie delivered great and good.

Yes, indeed. The ICON in the field of radio broadcasting is now deep into the acting scene. She never expected it. It just came. And she’s now more open for more acting jobs and tasks soon.

Director Ed Palmos, who’s so satisfied with Tessie’s capacity as an actress, is considering her once more in his upcoming next movie project right after Butanding. And Tessie also wants to appear in some TV teleseryes if offers will come her way.

“I am entering a new journey of my life, that, I can say now”, Tessie said in the end. “And I am happy that people still support me. Because I never left.”

(words by robert manuguid silverio)

tessie lagman with norris john, this blogger and denz jovelle salcines during the last day of shoot of the film "butanding"
tessie lagman with norris john, this blogger and denz jovelle salcines during the last day of shoot of the film “butanding”
tessie with international hollywood singer lou baron. both of them stars in the film "butanding", directed by ed palmos
tessie with international hollywood singer lou baron. both of them stars in the film “butanding”, directed by ed palmos
tessie's current radio program
tessie’s current radio program
he 4S barkadas invite all of you to listen every saturday from 8 to 10 in the evening for fun, laughter, and music to entertain your evening. Come join us in SAMASAMA SALOSALO over DZRM RADYO MAGAZINE 1278khz AM band.
the 4S barkadas invite all of you to listen every saturday from 8 to 10 in the evening for fun, laughter, and music to entertain your evening. Come join us in SAMASAMA SALOSALO over DZRM RADYO MAGAZINE 1278khz AM band.
young tessie lagman
young tessie lagman
ms. tessie lagman, now. with her grandchild on the photo.
ms. tessie lagman, now. with her grandchild on the photo.
tessie in private
tessie in private

Leave a Reply

