lourdes duque baron: feels at home with her very first filipino film


(listen to ms. lourdes baron’s great voice above. oh, so wonderful!— sssip*)

 

lou baron shoots a film
lou baron shoots a film

butanding

She stood there with so much eloquence and grace. Power and style. Dignity and beauty.

As the host of the press conference further introduced her, she smiled so sweetly and candidly like a child. And you could already feel the greatness within her. Her name: Lourdes Duque Baron, an acclaimed international Filipina singer in Los Angeles, winning awards from L.A. Music Awards and her song on her latest CD album “Table for Two” (her own cover of the hit song) currently the no. 1 most requested song on ReverBration.

Though this time around, we’d rather not talk about her great accomplishments abroad. This time around, let’s talk about her being a Filipina, at 67 years of age. And that, she just finished shooting her scenes in her very first Filipino film entitled Butanding, directed by low-key veteran film director- Edd Palmos.

How was it like doing a film here, Ms. Baron?

“My schedules met with the shooting schedules of our director”, she answered. “And I am so proud to do my very first Filipino film, right here on my own country. I left 40 years ago, and I am 67 years old now. The shooting went fine and smooth. Director Ed was so good in motivating me and all the rest of the cast and crew were so supportive and friendly.”

Do you love Butandings, Ms. Baron?

“Yes, I love them so much”, she answered. “They are an endangered species. We must all learn on how to protect them, save them. That’s why when I learned that the film we’re doing will center on Butandings, I at once agreed. It’s my turn to do my little contributuion in saving them from extinction.”

One blogger added, the participation of Ms. Lourdes Baron in the film Butanding will create an international appeal and could help a lot- in a way that it can attract wider attention on the recent plight of the Butandings. Some people wants to kill them, actually, because they eat small fishes in the ocean and fishermen wants them away from their territories.

Ms. Baron will be back on the Philippines by the month of May. She will be attending the grand premiere night of this film here in Manila. She left a couple f weeks back after finishing shooting her scenes in the movie.

“It was a great experience”, she said. “I am a Filipina, by heart and soul. I fell in love with our culture and ways back again. And how I wish, I could live a simple life all over again as a Filipina by heart, though at this time now, I can no longer do that with all those busy schedules I have. But certainly I plan to visit more frequently this time. I may do a couple of films more soon. So definitely, I will be back.”

Counting on that, Ms. Baron. You’re greater than you think you are.

 

(words by robert manuguid silverio)

 

lou resting after a break from a shoot
lou resting after a break from a shoot
a dramatic scene from the movie "butanding"
a dramatic scene from the movie “butanding”
ms. lou baron with veteran filipina celebrity dj tessie lagman
ms. lou baron with veteran filipina celebrity dj tessie lagman
lou in one of her great performances abroad
lou in one of her great performances abroad

butanding5 butanding7

ms lou baron with bayou bennett and husband and  publicist charlie lozo
ms lou baron with bayou bennett and husband and publicist charlie lozo

butanding9

Leave a Reply

