(Q & A): getting to know rafa siguion-reyna


 

RAFA: a chance meeting with him by a blogger at the gala night of "hari ng tondo" at the recently-concluded cinemalaya x, proved everlasting
RAFA: a chance meeting with him by a blogger at the gala night of “hari ng tondo” at the recently-concluded cinemalaya x, proved everlasting
SSSIP: How does it feel to be directed by your dad in your first film “Hari ng Tondo”?
 
RAFA: It was great. It was not difficult for me to adapt to him as a director because I learned a lot from him growing up. He would always support my performances in shows and in workshops as I was growing up, and when we did this movie I just had to apply what I already learned from him. It was a very professional relationship on the set.
 
SSSIP: You did good in “Hari ng Tondo”, Do you aspire more intensely now to become a serious actor?
RAFA: Yeah, i would certainly say so. Siguro at this point in my life,  ‘yun muna ang focus ko kasi habang bata pa ako. I can see myself continuing to put time into an acting career.
 Certainly at this point in my career there is still a lot of momentum, so gusto ko lang gumawa pa ng iba-ibang projects with other directors, too, if I could.
RAFA: DANCER, MUSICIAN, MODEL, ACTOR
RAFA: DANCER, MUSICIAN, MODEL, ACTOR
 
SSSIP: What can you say about “Hari ng Tondo”? I mean, the experience doing the film to be more profound.
RAFA: I’m very proud of the project. Nung nag-graduate ako last year, I told myself na I wanted to do three things this year: A stage/theatre project, a TV soap opera, and an indie/Cinemalaya film.
I was able to do all three, and the indie film was the one I really wanted because I’ve always wanted to do a movie. Im thankful that I was given the opportunity to not only level-up my acting abilities, but also to work with my parents and cousin Cris Villonco, because I’ve admired her works for a long time. Im also very proud of my parents. It’s not easy to make a movie, and to know my dad had come back after 14 years – and to be a part of the experience with him – is something I will always cherish.
 
rafa with his parents bibeth orteza and carlos siguion-reyna: "they are very supportive of me"
rafa with his parents bibeth orteza and carlos siguion-reyna: “they are very supportive of me” (PHOTO BY: JOJO PANALIGAN)
 
SSSIP: Is it hard to be a son of famous parents?
RAFA: It’s not hard at all. I learn a lot from them. On how to present myself, how to take criticism, and how to work hard. The one thing that I’ve learned from them is that working hard is more important than what talent or gifts you actually have. The idea is that “hard work beats talent when talent fails to work hard.” initially, it was intimidating, but I realized that it’s a huge privilege to have them as parents. I learn a lot about the business, and they keep me focused on my goals. They’re always there for constructive criticism but also support, and I appreciate that.
 
the secret is in his smiles.
the secret is in his smiles.
SSSIP: How would you describe yourself as an artist?
 
RAFA: Myself as an artist…. Hmmm… I started dancing, and that was my first love, but I think in the long run i consider myself an actor, who can dance and sing. Singing is most definitely the one that I know I need to continue to put hours into kasi hinahabol ko pa siya talaga (when compared to my acting and dancing) but in time, and with discipline it should get there I don’t consider myself the most talented, but ang pride ko talaga is in my work ethics and dedication sa trabaho. I love working, I love to have work, and I’m very thankful for any work i get.
rafa: staying for good
rafa: staying for good
 SSSIP: So, are you the type of an artist who works hard or the one who doesn’t want his art compromised?
RAFA: I’ve always been a fan of commercial artists, and so I believe if one can be a successful artist in his own right, AND be a commercial artist, that is something to admire, and something I want for my career. Kailanggan  magtiyaga lang talaga kasi yun ang pinaka importante sa industriyang ito.
 
SSSIP: Last question for this first interview on you (kasi susundan ko pa ‘yan ng susundan, ha?)… Is Rafa Siguion-Reyna staying in philippine showbiz for good?
 
RAFA: Yes, I hope so. 🙂
 

Leave a Reply

