LANCE RAYMUNDO: SURVIVOR! (WRITTEN BY MR. ERIC BORROMEO)


“LANCE RAYMUNDO, HIS TRAGEDY BECOMES AN INSPIRATION TO MANY”

 

By Eric L. Borromeo

lance6

 

Lance Raymundo is a survivor. After meeting a freak accident that nearly caused him his life, the actor has moved on, accepted his fate, bounced back, and even turned that fateful day in rejuvenating his acting and singing career.

    But the best life’s lesson he learned from the experience is that miracle do happen when you have a strong faith in God and you are surrounded by loving and caring people.; Lance is truly thankful for his friends, and most importantly, his family.

    “The love, support, positivity and continuous prayers from my family and loved ones literally fueled my veins and brought me back to life! I feel like I’ve become a stronger person.

    “I actually surprised myself when I was able to look at the mirror for the very first time – when I was disfigured – and easily accepted my fate and immediately planned on how to move on and continue having a meaningful life even if I lost the sight of one eye and looked disfigured,” he shared.

    It also gave Lance more reasons to appreciate life’s very often much overlooked simplicity.

    “Now that I’m back to normal, I give less importance to superficial things like looks. And give more importance to what’s within. Because during the days that I looked disfigured, the one thing I held on to is the goodness and beauty from within,” he said.

    Having a new lease in life, and showing the people how strong a person he is, Lance’s painful ordeal continues to inspire people.

    “It’s an honor and privilege for me to have become inspirational to many people. Whenever I hear that’s experience has touched people’s lives positively, it makes all the pain I experienced worth it,” he said.

    What made the actor hold on to his life was the thought of his family. Lance was on the brink of death and slipping away, but that single thought made him fight for his life.

    “Even when the middle of my skull was literally cracked open… Surprisingly, I never lost consciousness. But, I actually felt like I was swiftly slipping away. I actually had that feeling that death was approaching. And I held on to my life because I thought of my family and loved ones who would be shattered if I left this world in such a tragic manner,” he shared.

    What happened was while Lance was lying on his back and doing his dumbbell routine, a trainer accidentally shoved a barbell that smashed his face.

    “I’ve actually always been careful. The accident had nothing to do with me not being careful. I was doing a dumbbell fly workout, I was laying on my back and had one dumbbell on each hand, I wasn’t using the barbell. Then while I was doing my own workout, the trainer who was standing near my head area accidentally shoved the barbell that was resting on the rack above me and fell on my face.

    “I will play safe for now and do more body weight workouts like pushups , sit-ups… And will also use the machines in the gym instead of the free weights,” he said. He did not file any case against the trainer though.

    After a series of reconstructive surgery and months of recuperation, Lance said all the positive comments he received from different people made it easier for him to accept his ‘new’ self. And amazingly a tide of new opportunities also started pouring in.

    “I’ve gotten used to it very easily. All the positive comments I got from the media, audience, industry people and social media helped me a lot in embracing the new me.

    “I was surprised at how the events in the past three months of my life have opened doors to so many new opportunities for me in the entertainment world. The changes in my physical appearance also gave me the chance to play roles I’ve never played before. Now, I get good guy roles more than the usual bad guy or character roles in the past,” he said.

    To date, Lance is working on an international film project and his singing engagements are already fully booked until January of next year. The actor is also in talk with possible TV projects.

    “I’m currently working on an international movie project, shooting begins in July. I’m also flying to Korea this July 19 for the world premiere of my movie by Ato Bautista, ‘Gemini’, for the Puchon International Film Festival.

    “As a singer, so far, I have been booked till January 2015. Also looking forward to good working relationships with the networks,” Lance said in closing.

    Indeed, fate is a strange bedfellow. But a strong determination and loads of positivity will fate only favor. And Lance is one perfect example of that.

 

eric b. & wife (?)
eric b. & wife (?)

WORDS BY: MR. ERIC BORROMEO

 

PICTURES BELOW, COURTESY OF MR. LANCE RAYMUNDO IN ONE OF HIS SPEECHES FOR THE RVM NUNS AND CATHOLIC STUDENTS, TOGETHER WITH HIS MOM- MRS. NINA ZALDUA-RAYMUNDO:

lance1lance2 lance3 lance4 lance5

Leave a Reply

