getting to know ruben ma. soriquez…


ruben3

Religion. It’s something so delicate to discuss about, much more become a topic of a blog feature. For a movie like Of Sinners And Saints (currently filming), Religion could be a very hot issue. But let’s all leave it that way, and wait for the movie to be shown.

During the 11th day shoot, a blogger visited the set of the above-mentioned indie film through the invitation of Mr. Don Gordon Bell, the film’s unit still man. There he met Mr. Ruben Ma. Soriquez, a half-Italian, half-Filipino film maker.

His film- Of Sinners And Saints, still in the process of filming, but from the looks of it, he’s doing something good and worth of praise. Observing how he worked on that, he certainly knew every detail of a good film shoot and process.

ruben ma. soriquez tackles a sensitive issue in his first filipino indie film
ruben ma. soriquez tackles a sensitive issue in his first filipino indie film

Here’s our QUESTION AND ANSWER (Q & A) interview with Mr. Soriquez:

SSSIP: Can you tell us more about yourself, Mr. Soriquez?

RUBEN MA. SORIQUEZ (RMS): Yes. I am Ruben Ma. Soriquez. I was born in Colonna, Italy. But since 1990, I have been coming here in the Philippines. So I knew the country very well already and I have already adjusted. I am half-Filipino, half-Italian. My mother is a Filipina and my father is an Italian. I feel at home with both countries- Italy and Philippines. I consider them both my countries now. Italy and here. I so love the Philippines and I consider myself also a Filipino now since my mom is a Filipina.

SSSIP: How did you start doing films?

RMS: I started first in Italy. And I was busy doing films there that’s why I didn’t think of producing and directing a film outside of Italy at that time. But when I first came here in the Philippines in 2008, I fell in love at once with our country. Then one time, I went to see the countryside here, I did some reflections and I told myself: “I want to do something here someday”. And so I did.

mr. soriquez with lead actress of his film- ms. chanel latorre, and blogger robert silverio
mr. soriquez with lead actress of his film- ms. chanel latorre, and blogger robert silverio

SSSIP: Can you tell us something about your film “Of Sinners And Saints”?

RMS: This film is co-written by me and Bong Ramos. We wrote it in less than a month. We rushed doing the script because I wanted to shoot before the rainy season starts. It’s about a priest rescuing a woman and a kid. I cannot reveal all the details of the movie because we’re not finished yet. Just watch the film when it’s finally shown. All I can say is, the film is about the message of hope. That everyone can feel hope even at the darkest moments.

SSSIP: I heard you are also going to do a big Hollywood film someday with Hollywood American actors. Can you tell us more about it?

RMS: Yes, that’s true. It’s about an American coming here in the Philippines. That’s going to be a very expensive film and we’re still choosing the Hollywood actor who will be the lead actor of the film. We have already done the teaser of that film so for us to get an international funding. I am keeping my fingers crossed that it will come true someday. It’s my dream project. We are now considering James Franco as the lead actor.

mr. soriquez at work
mr. soriquez at work

SSSIP: Last question, Mr. Soriquez, who are your favorite Hollywood film directors?

RMS: Number one for me is Peter Weir, an Australian film maker. Next is Martin Scorsese, an Italian-American film director. And third is Alan Parker, a British film director.

SSSIP: Thank you very much, Mr. Soriquez. You’re so handsome.

RMS: Oh, thank you! (smiles like Orlando Bloom).

 

—end of interview—

(written by robert manuguid silverio)

DON

PHOTOS BY: MR. DON GORDON BELL

an intimate scene with chanel and ruben in "of sinners and saints"
an intimate scene with chanel and ruben in “of sinners and saints”

Leave a Reply

