“can we just stop and talk awhile?” at general tinio, nueva ecija?


WELCOME TO NUEVA ECIJA!
WELCOME TO NUEVA ECIJA!
A COUNTRYSIDE IN GEN. TINIO, NUEVA ECIJA.
A COUNTRYSIDE IN GEN. TINIO, NUEVA ECIJA.
THE CITY STREETS OF GEN. TINIO, N.E.
THE CITY STREETS OF CABANATUAN, N.E.
GREAT NATURE IN N.E.
GREAT NATURE IN N.E. (NUEVA ECIJA).
VICE MAYOR FERDINAND BOTE OF GENERAL TINIO, NUEVA ECIJA, TOGETHER WITH HIS SONS
VICE MAYOR FERDINAND BOTE OF GENERAL TINIO, NUEVA ECIJA, TOGETHER WITH HIS SONS
A YOUNG MAN VIEWING A SCENERY COUNTRYSIDE IN GEN. TINIO
A YOUNG MAN VIEWING A SCENERY COUNTRYSIDE IN GEN. TINIO
MR. DAVE MACARIOLA & FRIENDS EDEL TEMPLENUEVO (R.I.P.), RODRIGO IBASCO & DIREK SOXY TOPACIO
MR. DAVE MACARIOLA (THE BLOGGER’S HOST IN GEN. TINIO, N.E.), & FRIENDS EDEL TEMPLENUEVO (R.I.P.), RODRIGO IBASCO & DIREK SOXY TOPACIO
THE "BLOGGER" WITH MR. DAVE MACARIOLA IN A DRESS SHOP GENERAL TINIO
THE “BLOGGER” WITH MR. DAVE MACARIOLA IN A DRESS SHOP GENERAL TINIO
MRS. MAYVELINE P. BOTE & HUSBAND VICE MAYOR FERDINAND BOTE & FAMILY
MRS. MAYVELINE P. BOTE & HUSBAND VICE MAYOR FERDINAND BOTE & FAMILY
THE REAL GENERAL TINIO OF PHILIPPINE HISTORY, HIS NAME WAS DERIVED FROM GENERAL TINIO PLACE IN NUEVA ECIJA.
THE REAL GENERAL TINIO OF PHILIPPINE HISTORY, HIS NAME WAS DERIVED FROM GENERAL TINIO PLACE IN NUEVA ECIJA.

It was a safe haven, and a very memorable one… Where people smile when you met them across the street… when the sun’s rays seemed to be tickling at it touches your skin… and wherein you could suddenly breathe-in some fresh and clean air- unpolluted and unharmed. When summer comes in less than a month, better save a penny or two- ‘coz you’ll  be needing them for a great vacation awaiting to all the young and the weary.  The countryside offers a lot more and new clean thrills… away from the hassles and bustles  of the city life, the rushes and conflicts of a modern society and the boredom of being a  “selfie”. As I boarded the air-conditioned bus going to Gapan, Nueva Ecija (the only bus route that would lead you to General Tinio in Nueva Ecija), I knew something worthwhile was going to happen. I badly needed to go-away that Saturday morning and feel a break from the monotony of my daily existence. Escaping people’s egos that harms me much… The journey was enjoyable and safe. The bus toured along the cities of Bulacan- like San Rafael and San Miguel, before reaching Gapan City, Nueva Ecija.  The scenery, the ordinary lives of people living in a countryside, the simplicity and lightness of the human spirit, the little joys and touching moments- overwhelmed my feeling as I viewed them by the bus window- outside of it, as it happened. Suddenly, my energy was recharged at once. From a mellow, self-sacrificing man in his late 40’s, I felt a sudden rush of being a young kid again wanting to run across the street, eat ice cream or get delighted by meeting new friends and dine with them. I felt I did the right decision. It was upon the warm invitation of Mr. Dave Leodones Macariola that I decided to go to General Tinio in N.E. (Nueva Ecija) that day. We’ve been planning for a long time to finally meet each other, after a few years of being Facebook friends. And the timing was PERFECT. I never knew that the town of General Tinio could be that big and wide! The streets were clean and vibrant, people were courteous (you’d feel so safe travelling in a tricycle because the tricycle drivers here are smiling and kind), and with no traffic at all. You could be overjoyed by the utmost simplicity of the people here. But you see them united, friendly, charming… papaya I finally met with Mr. Macariola as the tricycle I was riding-in finally landed at the front of his house in Barangay Papaya, General Tinio. Even from far-afar, Mr. Macariola was already smiling at me. He was wearing an electric green shirt and an overwhelming red pants as he instructed himself to wear for our first meeting. Upon arrival, I saw the people involved in Grace Family Helper project, a NGO in which Mr. Macariola was involved in. Its  home base is in Tondo, Manila, and it’s Dave who coordinated a charitable project of distributing goods for the victims of Santi typhoon last year to General Tinio’s affected residents. It’s part of the United Sates Emergency relief for the typhoon victims. Every month, they distribute relief goods to different places like General Tinio, San Isidro, San Antonio, to name some. The executive director of this project is Mrs. Ofelia Viray. After chatting briefly with Dave and Mrs. Viray, Dave invited me at once to have lunch with the charming and pretty wife of the Vice Mayor of General Tinio- Mrs. Mayvelyn Javier Bote, at the Vice Mayor’s (Vice Mayor Ferdinand Bote) residence in General Tinio. Oh, my, The lunch was superbly fabulous. We ate fried meat of a baboy ramo, grilled pork chops, a fantastic vegetable flower dish, et. al., with delicacies like sweet ube, leche flan and fruits. Gosh, my stomach bloated at once. But more than the lunch itself, it was the very friendly and sincere approach of Mrs. Bote that touched the heart of a blogger. She’s very down-to-earth, warm and kind. His handsome son, Mikko, a very appealing young guy also entertained us. It was so great. Dave later on toured me to the streets and social hall of General Tinio. He also introduced me to some other friends there, like the owner of a flower shop named Deo. Having an entirely different setting of life and meeting new people truly fascinated us. It was, indeed, again I say, A SAFE HAVEN. For me and my hidden “angel-friends”? I somehow said to myself at that time. People here were not rich, they live so simply and humbly. But they are rich by the heart, wealthy by the deep friendships they all shared together, and glittering in warm hospitality and camaraderie… And the night CAME IN. It’s our TIME to be “altogether”. Dave again, tagged me along to the birthday dinner of the mom of the Vice Mayor. She’s still so elegant and trendy despite her age. I met the rest of the family and friends of the Vice Mayor (VM Ferdinand P. Bote) that evening. His two other handsome sons, relatives and brothers. The dinner meal was fantastic! Big crabs, prawns, salads, fruits, palabok, dinuguan, etcetera, etcetera… Again, I bloated. Haha. AND NOW, “BED TIME”. I saw a rare big brown grasshopper (more than 8″ inches long, I think), with great big horns and a pleasant appearance- that’s almost stationary clinging there upon the wall, beside the door entrance of Dave’s sister’s house. I knew. It looked like as if  it was guarding the house, and I felt somewhat safe. As I slept, I saw good  visions. But I’d rather not share. But what electrified me most was the lingering invisible presence of a young male (I knew he was male based on his lingering sweet smell and odor) that walked-in and out of the room, climbed down and up the stairs of the room I was sleeping-in. And suddenly, it appeared. Yes, indeed, it was a young male. But it wasn’t one among my “friends”. He was a different young man. And he was wearing a white polo shirt. That’s all I saw. But he was really handsome. I didn’t feel afraid because I knew he was a good spirit. I could feel it because the aura was so enlightening, light, calming…When he smiled, he vanished into thin air.   FAST-CUT TO: THE MORNING AFTER.   Dave fetched me early in the morning to attend their services in a Christian church (we will have a separate blog feature on this, we promise). But before the church services started, I managed to interview the Vice Mayor- VM Ferdinand P. Bote, as he sat there on his living room reading some papers. (The church was just at the front street location of his house). But hey, the VM didn’t want any kind of interviews, we retract. He simply chatted with the blogger and discussed some things about politics. He was really “publicity-shy”, but very caring, kind… and undeniably handsome. Haha. “Let’s just stop and talk awhile”, the Vice Mayor told this blogger. After the chat with the Vice Mayor, the church services started and the whole Bote family attended it, including the kids- grand nieces, cousins, nephews, etcetera. the experience was very spiritual and redeeming for the blogger, though, he promised to himself to remain a Catholic. But he felt something so different. As if, he belonged to “another new family” aside from his own’s…. As another late lunch with Mr. Dave Macariola ended after the church services, it was time to go home and ride a bus back to Manila… I looked all-over the wide place of General Tinio. It was heaven itself. Briefly I felt. Briefly I experienced.   Because heaven is not made-up of silver and gold decors and material invites… Heaven is SIMPLICITY.   And heaven could still be HERE.     (as the words were written: by robert manuguid silverio, February 10, 2014, together with the “angels”? Haha.) 🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂 plus🙂 me-and-aj.jpg

4 thoughts on ““can we just stop and talk awhile?” at general tinio, nueva ecija?

  1. What a beautifully written story about my town. Let me just clarify that General Tinio is no longer part of Gapan City. It became a full-pledged town in the year 1921. It’s more popular with its original name, Papaya. I’m glad you have experienced the warm hospitality of our people. And that is quite a tourist attraction by itself. Lots of love, Robert!

Leave a Reply

